Free shipping within Germany

Our story

In 2012 Stefanie traveled to India for the first time and fell in love with the colors, materials and handicrafts of the South Asian continent. India as the cradle of textile production was predestined to turn this love into a passion.

At the same time, Stefanie started a job with a large German development organization. Her task was to find out how successful the projects of this organization in Nepal were. During conversations with the population, Stefanie learned that the people were not at all satisfied with these development projects. The key message was, "Just buy our products, we need direct income!"

After a short reflection, Stefanie felt that her work behind the screen was no longer useful and did exactly what was the result of her evaluation: she bought 100 kg of local Nepalese handicrafts and brought them back to Germany.

A potential life concept developed from an experiment. The products were fantastically received and so it was possible for Stefanie to create her first own collections in 2014 together with artisans* in Kathmandu, Nepal. The product range became bigger and bigger and the demand increased visibly.

In 2016, Stefanie and Frank met on a mountain hut while hiking - in Austria - after Frank had already been cycling around the world for six years. They immediately bonded over their shared love of travel and decided to travel to India together in 2017. This trip turned into love and today the two are parents of a wonderful daughter.

Frank and Stefanie are now Perelin Handicrafts together. Frank mainly takes care of warehouse logistics, photography, technology and equipment. Stefanie organizes product selection, personnel and contact with manufacturers. Together they are a super team and complement each other's skills perfectly.

Perelin sold exclusively offline until 2020 - face to face, at Christmas markets, at several locations in southern Germany. This way of trading offered the opportunity to use the rest of the year to design new collections and visit the production sites in India and Nepal.

The move into digital selling was inevitable with 2020 and so we look forward to an even wider reach and even more happy customers than before.

Thank you for joining us on this journey!


Stefanie & Frank

kostenfreier Versand innerhalb Deutschlands

Unsere Story

2012 reiste Stefanie zum ersten Mal nach Indien und verliebte sich in die Farben, Materialien und Handarbeit des südasiatischen Kontinents. Indien als Wiege der Textilherstellung war geradezu prädestiniert aus dieser Liebe eine Leidenschaft zu machen. 

Gleichzeitig begann Stefanie einen Job bei einer großen deutschen Entwicklungsorganisation. Ihre Aufgabe war es herauszufinden, wie erfolgreich die Projekte dieser Organisation in Nepal waren. Bei Gesprächen mit der Bevölkerung erfuhr Stefanie, dass die Menschen gar nicht so zufrieden mit diesen Entwicklungsprojekten waren. Die Kernaussage war: “Kauft uns einfach unsere Produkte ab, wir brauchen direktes Einkommen!” 

Nach kurzer Überlegung empfand Stefanie ihre Arbeit hinter dem Bildschirm als nicht mehr sinnvoll und tat genau das, was das Ergebnis ihrer Auswertung war: sie kaufte 100 kg einheimische nepalesische Handarbeiten und brachte sie mit nach Deutschland. 

Aus einem Experiment entwickelte sich ein potenzielles Lebenskonzept. Die Produkte wurden fantastisch angenommen und so war es möglich, dass Stefanie 2014 ihre ersten eigenen Kollektionen gemeinsam mit Kunsthandwerker*innen in Kathmandu, Nepal, entwerfen konnte. Die Produktpalette wurde immer größer und die Nachfrage stieg zusehends. 

2016 trafen sich Stefanie und Frank auf einer Berghütte beim Wandern – in Österreich - nachdem Frank bereits sechs Jahre lang mit dem Fahrrad um die Welt gefahren war. Die gemeinsame Liebe fürs Reisen verband sie sofort und so beschlossen sie, 2017 gemeinsam nach Indien zu reisen. Aus dieser Reise wurde Liebe und heute sind die beiden Eltern einer wunderbaren Tochter. 

Frank und Stefanie sind heute gemeinsam Perelin Handicrafts. Frank kümmert sich vor allem um Lagerlogistik, Fotografie, Technik und Ausstattung. Stefanie organisiert Produktauswahl, Personal und den Kontakt zu den Herstellern. Gemeinsam sind sie ein super Team und ergänzen sich in ihren Fähigkeiten perfekt. 

Perelin verkaufte bis 2020 ausschließlich offline - face to face, auf Weihnachtsmärkten, an mehreren Standorten in Süddeutschland. Diese Art des Handels bot die Möglichkeit, das restliche Jahr über zu nutzen um neue Kollektionen zu entwerfen und die Produktionsstandorte in Indien und Nepal zu besuchen. 

Der Schritt ins digitale Verkaufen war mit 2020 unausweichlich und so freuen wir uns auf eine noch größere Reichweite und noch mehr glückliche Kunden als bisher.

Danke, dass du mit uns auf diese Reise gehst!


Stefanie & Frank